People person

4 Jun

Arriving at Financier Pâtisserie for morning pain au chocolat, I found myself in line behind an elderly Russian woman.  At the time there was only one associate manning the counter, and combined with this woman’s dire need for perfect, unbroken pastries, they proceeded to take ten minutes of my life.  In the meantime, a few other customers arrived.  One, a Wall-Streeter who stood by, when a second associate stepped in behind the counter and started, “Sir, what can I get for you?”
He physically relocated and cut in front: “Excuse me.”
I loudly muttered under my breath: “Damn right, excuse you.”
He turned and looked quizzically: “Sorry?”
“You heard me.  I was here well before you.”
“I didn’t think you understood [the associate].”
I rolled my eyes and used fingers to mark points: “Okay first, you’re insulting my intelligence.  Second, you’re telling me I wouldn’t understand [the associate], why, ’cause I’m Asian?  You weren’t even respectful enough to mention, ‘Oh, she was here before me.'”
Completely baffled, to the associate: “I’m sorry, she was here before me.”
Damn right.

One Response to “People person”

  1. origamidumpling June 4 at 12:18pm #

    Oh damn. I love this. This phrase is so old, but oh so necessary for this entry: YOU GO GIRL! This is love, and you are my hero.

Leave a Reply

