The “ultimate cheesesteak”

23 Apr

Named Philadelphia’s favorite, John’s Roast Pork was a location that reminded me of Johnnie’s Beef in Chicago — a stand on the outskirts of a big city with hungry, waiting crowds.  And like Johnnie’s Beef, I was very satisfied with my divey eats.
Cheesesteak with sharp provolone, onions and banana peppers
The publicity and James Beard Foundation Award did not lie.  I came to Philly for its cheesesteak (the Boyfriend, for its roast pork sandwiches but I obviously tried some anyway); I had quite a few in the past but none of them came close to this one sandwich.  There’s something comforting about gooey provolone over 12 ounces of thinly-sliced, grilled beef and onions, and John’s Roast Pork has got it right.
Roast pork sandwich with sharp provolone and spinach
I must admit I was disappointed that the namesake sandwich was not as expected.  Maybe it’s personal taste, but I didn’t like the funkiness of the pork, and the spinach could not reach the bar set by the garlicky broccoli rabe at DiNic’s.  If you want roast pork in Philly, go to Reading Terminal Market and head toward DiNic’s stand.

Leave a Reply

